Sola Gratia

For His Word, Church, and Glory

Great reminder

leave a comment »

Academic pursuits often run the risk of missing the forest for the trees; so much focus is on the learning that the overall picture of why one attends an academic intsituition gets lost. This is one concern i have as well about my calling to attend WSC in Escondido. Prof Kim reminded us today after class and shared with us the importance of reading The Bible and spending time in prayer. Because I’v been in front of a foregin language book for three weeks now, I’v neglected spending time immersed in God’s Word, His true and inspired and inerrant word. I have much to learn that is sure, but I’ve already been blessed to hear helpful exhortations from staff and professors. The call to ministry is not easy, and it’s a high calling indeed. The church is hospital for sinners, and therein lies the challenges any pastor faces as he prepares for sermons to feed the sheep and to provide counsel in the midst of life’s arrows. In fact Paul addresses this in Romans % about perserverance which creates character and in turn creates hope.

Greek is tough this week, and it seems the more i stare at the pages the less I learn or retain. This experience thus far shows me how dependent i am on Christ and His saving work on the cross. O how I lack focus, but may I fix my eyes on Christ jesus, The Author and Perfector of faith. To Him be the glory.

Written by ryan069

August 22, 2008 at 2:37 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment