Sola Gratia

For His Word, Church, and Glory

New found blog

leave a comment »

At RedDoor church we are going through the Gospel of John. This series has been a a great reminder of the deity of Christ and His incarnation as the Son of God. In the beginning was the Word and the award was with God. In Christ is the light of life and a new birth. My favorite sermon thus far has been on chapter 3 where Nicodemus has an encounter with Jesus. How must I have eternal life. Jesus challenges Nicodemus and says, “you must be born again.” Ezekiel ties in well with the overall biblical theme of God’s sovereignty in salvation, taking a heart if stone to a heart of flesh. Man is rebellious and seeks his own passions and pleasures, but when God changes the heart, sinners now desire to seek God,s righteousness. I am grateful that God came to rescue me and to give me new life in Him. This new life as. Christian is truly a gift from above and I have nothing to boast in other than God,s grace to me.

I also enjoyed the sermon this past week about spiritual gifts. One salient point stood out as I pondered the true meaning of spiritual gifts: the gifts are given to edify the body of Christ. Too often I have despaired over not having a certain gift, and my pride has curved inward thinking about my own selfish desires rather than serving the church.

The mercies of the Lord are new every morning. May we be of one mind and work together in proclaiming the excellencies of Christ. May his name be exalted over all the earth.

Written by ryan069

April 24, 2012 at 4:14 am

Posted in spiritual gifts

Leave a comment