Sola Gratia

For His Word, Church, and Glory

Rescuing Ambition

leave a comment »

Passivity is evident in a person where there are two many distractions and a lack of godly ambition. Dave Harvey has written a great book on ambition and how humans crave glory and recognition in their lives. Harvey talks about how a sports fan will center their lives around a sporting event and live to see their team win. And if the team doesn’t win, the fan is left in what seems like inconsolable melancholy. I believe a lack of ambition also stems from idolatry. Humans are made for worship. We might not always think we are worshiping, but the fact we spend our time and resources lets us know we are putting hope in something other than the Triune God, who sent His Son Jesus to die for sinners and to rise again for their justification.

I am grateful for the Holy Spirit. For the first time , I am seeing how sin has caused separation between God and other interpersonal relationship. Like King David, I recognize that I have ultimately sinned against God alone. He deserves all praise and glory. His love endures forever. Psalm 51 has been comfort to my soul as I meditate on God’s Word and rest in the gospel.  We preach Christ crucified, and Him alone for salvation.

I confess that I have spent innumerable hours thinking about what my calling is in life. I have made it an idol, looking for identity in what I do. What tomfoolery! It’s not what I do, but rather what Christ has done for me on the cross. In addition to this, Harvey points out the comforting truth of Christ’s active obedience; he lived a perfect life without sin and by faith He reckons that righteousness to me. It s a righteousness outside myself. In Latin the phrase is extra nos. No this is not some octane boost inside, infused within, but it is the work of Christ on my behalf.

I pray that I’ll learn more from Harvey’s book and lean on the promises of God revealed in His Word.

Written by ryan069

June 24, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment